TBRs and Wrap-ups

Emily’s October Wrap-Up

October felt like a MUCH better reading month for me compared to September as I read 7 books and had more downtime to read because of fall break. It’s been difficult to keep up with consistently reading this school year as I haven’t had as much free time, and I don’t always feel like reading in the little free time I have. It’s been a crazy week (because of school) so I apologize for this late wrap-up.

I don’t feel like giving summaries of all the books I read in October so instead I’ll just be sharing my thoughts on them with you and adding their Goodreads links.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon 

Image result for when dimple met rishi

I gave this book 3/5 stars. While I appreciate the representation this novel brings to the YA genre, I found the story very average and the characters unlikable at times. Many aspects of the story felt as if they were there for mere plot convenience rather than to better develop and move the story forward. I was really expecting to love this novel with the hype it’s received, but I think I went in with too high expectations.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28458598-when-dimple-met-rishi

Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller 

Image result for death of a salesman

I read this play for my AP language class as we discussed the American Dream. I enjoyed the hidden symbolism throughout this entire story, but I didn’t find it particularly interesting and thought that it dragged on, despite it being so short.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12898.Death_of_a_Salesman

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly 

Image result for hidden figures by margot lee shetterly

I couldn’t ever get myself into reading this novel physically so instead I resorted to its audio book form. I don’t read a lot in the ways of nonfiction so this was a different read for me. Nonetheless I found this TRUE story so empowering, and I loved listening to such strong women’s stories.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25953369-hidden-figures

Sadie by Courtney Summers 

Image result for sadie by courtney summers

I ate up this story in October! It  presents real, hard to talk about, raw issues that we are severely dealing with in society. The story kept me on my toes as I fell in love with the characters and the mystery completely enveloped me. The format of its storytelling adds to its allure as half is told in a podcast and the other is told from Sadie’s perspective. 5/5 star read.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34810320-sadie

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

Image result for the hazel wood by melissa albert

You can check out my full thoughts on this novel in my review for it on our blog. This novel was so mysterious and unique; it was the perfect book to read during spooky season. Just like Sadie, this book has its own very unique allure that draws you in and keeps you reading. I’m excited for the sequel coming out next year!

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34275232-the-hazel-wood

Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles 

Image result for tyler johnson was here

For fans of The Hate U Give, Dear Martin, and anyone who wants an active change in how minorities are treated in our country, this book is for you. It wasn’t an easy read, but it spoke great lengths of truth that this nation needs to hear. I enjoyed this story all around and am anxious to see what more Jay Coles has to put out in the YA genre.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35604682-tyler-johnson-was-here

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli 

Image result for the upside of unrequited

I will never be able to express just how much I love Becky’s novels. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, but it amazes me how she writes so fluently from the minds of teenagers. I find myself relating to her characters a lot and enjoying just how hysterical they are. This has got to be my favorite novel from her so far.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30653853-the-upside-of-unrequited

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s